Student Achievements » National/Georgia Merit Scholar

National/Georgia Merit Scholar

Each year the University of Georgia, in conjunction with the State Department of Education, recognize Georgia Certificate of Merit Scholars across the state of Georgia in recognition of outstanding scholastic achievement throughout the first three years of high school. To qualify for this prestigious award, students must rank in the top five percent of their junior class. Tift County High School Merit Scholars are: (in alphabetical order) Lauren Barr, Dontavious Bell, Hollie Bennett, Anna Bowen, Alexandria Branch, Laura Brock, Calvin Chee, Damian Damian, Emily Dawson, Jordyn Dove, Katie Eason, Hanna Frederick, Ashlee Golden, Giovani Jiminez, Catherine Kemeness, Raylee Kitchens, Jack Lambert, Lehi Larger, Maggie Moore, Raveena Patel, Shayley Register, Emily Robertson, Jacob Smith, Carlee Snow, and Olivia Thomas. (May 2017)



 The principal, Kim Seigler, of  Tift County High School announced today that  James Curtis (Dru) Branch has been named a Commended Student in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to this scholastically talented senior.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2016 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2016 competition by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)."The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for NMSC. "These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."